Free Settler or Felon

Convict Ship Surgeons Index


First Name

Surname / Subject


Use the Search Box above to find your Hunter Valley Ancestor.

Sources and Hints and Tips

Convict Ship Surgeons Index

Powers and Duties of the Surgeon Superintendent:

The superintendent surgeon joins the ship before the convicts are put on board, and has the whole superintendence of them.

During the whole voyage the convicts are under his superintendence; he may inflict punishment by a limited number of lashes.

He is bound to preserve discipline, and is responsible to the Admiralty

The convicts might complain of his conduct on their arrival at Sydney to the visiting officer from the Colonial Secretary's office.

The surgeon superintendent keeps a journal, which is inspected by the governor and by the Admiralty.

He carries out a copy of the record of the crimes committed by each convict.

If there is no chaplain on board; the surgeon superintendent reads prayers, and sometimes, a sermon on Sunday, when the weather permits.

The superintendent surgeon does not leave until all the stores have been removed from the ship - Report from the Select Committee on Transportation 1837 [1]

Below are links to surgeons who were employed on convict ships to Australia in the years 1788 - 1862


Samuel Alexander

James Allan

Richard Allen

Richard Alley

John Turnpenny Altree

Charles Abercrombie Anderson

James A. Anderson

Matthew Anderson

William Anderson

John Andrews

Thomas Andrews

Lancelot Armstrong

Robert Armstrong

Thomas Arndell

Joseph Arnold

Matthew Austin


Arthur Wellesley Wellington Babington

John Baird

Henry Baker

William Balmain

James Barr

John Fletcher Bayley

Robert Beith

David Wake Bell

Thomas Bell

Thomas Bellot

Augustus Jacob Beyer

James Billing

George Birnie

William Bland

Joseph Blyer

James Booth

John Bower

Robert Bower

Arthur Bowes Smyth

John William Bowler

James Bowman

John C. Bowman

David Boyter

Abraham Bradford

Henry Gordon Brock

Edward Foord Bromley

Robert Browne

Colin Arrott Browning

Thomas Brownrigg

James Marr Brydone

Alexander Bryson

John Buist

Matthew Burnside

Benjamin Bynoe


Edward Caldwell

Joseph Caldwell

James Callam

Charles Cameron

John Campbell

William Bell Carlyle

James Carmichael

Charles Carter

James Leathem Clarke

Richard Clarke

Robert Whitmore Clarke

Thrasycles Clarke

George Clayton


William Clifford

Edward Coates

Harman Cochrane

Patrick Coleman

John Connellan

Dennis Considen

David Barry Conway

Joseph Cook

Peter Cosgreave

James Craigie

William Crawford

James Creagh

John Crocket

Alexander Cross

Lennox Thompson Cunningham

Peter Cunningham


Thomas Davie

Thomas Davies

John Davidson

David Deas

Alexander Dewar

James Dickson

Robert Dickson

John Dight

John Dobie

Robert Dobie

Samuel Donnelly

William Donnelly

James John Louis Donnet

Anthony Donoghoe

James Donovan

Michael Dorke

John Drummond

John Duke

John Dulhunty

Robert Dunn

Thomas Russell Dunn


John Edwards

John Wilson Elliott

James Ellis

William Elyard

Robert Espie

Evan Evans

William Evans

William Evans R.N.


George Fairfowl

Archibald Ferguson

John Ferrier

W.S. Fielding

Peter Fisher

George Ellery Forman

James Forrester

George Irwin Fox

Campbell France

Charles Henry Fuller


Thomas Galloway

John Gannon

David Geddes

John Gibson

Thomas Gibson

James Gilchrist

Harry Goldney

Michael Goodsir

James A. Gordon

Peter Gossam

William Graham

William Grey

William Gregor


James Hall

John William Hallion

Sir John Hamett

James Hamilton

John Macauley Hamilton

William Hamilton

John Stephen Hampton

John Harris

David Hartley

John Haslam

Andrew Henderson

William Henderson

Sir Edward Hilditch

Patrick Hill

Joseph Hislop

John Hogan

Joseph Hugh Hughes

Richard Hughes

Archibald Hume

James Hunter

Thomas Hunter


George Imlay

Charles Inches

John Inches

John Irvine

John Isaat


Alexander Jack


Thomas Jamison

Edward Jeffery

Thomas W. Jewell

Ebenezer Johnston

James Wingate Johnston

John Johnston

William H. Bulkeley Jones


Cornelius Kelly

John Kelly

Henry Kelsall

Richard Kent

Thomas Heron Keown

Charles T.S. Kevern

John Kidd

Alexander Kilroy

Gilbert King

Charles Ritchie Kinnear

John Justice W. Kunst


John James Lancaster

Archibald Lang

Jason Lardner

James Lawrence

Walter Lawrence

Emanuel Lazzaretto

Edward Leah

Frederick W. Le Grand

Thomas Leighton

Peter Leonard

Richard Lewis

William Leyson

Charles Linton

Francis Logan

Thomas Logan

George Longstaff

John Love


Samuel Mackay

D. Mackenzie

Robert Maclean (McLean)

Alexander C. Macleroy

George David Maclaren

Benjamin McAvoy

Robert McCrea

Thomas Wallis McDonald

William McDonald

William McDowell

Alexander McKechnie

James McKerrow

Allan McLaren

Colin McLaughlin

Robert McLean

John Macmillan

Daniel McNamara

James McTernan

Patrick McTernan

James Ormiston McWilliam

Patrick Magovern

Henry Walsh Mahon


Robert Malcolm

William Barrett Marshall

William Martin

Martin Mason

Patrick Martyn

James Alexander Mercer

James Mileham

Andrew Millar

James Mitchell

Andrew Montgomery

John Moodie

John Morgan

James Morice

Harvey Morris

John Mortimer

John Arnold Mould

Jacob Mountgarrett

George Todd Moxey

John Munro


Alexander Neill

Alexander Nisbet

J.P. Niebuhr

Alexander Noble

Edward Nolloth

Isaac Noott

Charles Kevern Nutt

Alick Osborne

James Osborne

John Osborne

James Patton

John Pawson

William Petrie

Obadiah Pineo

William Porteus

John Washington Price

Morgan Price

William Price

Thomas Prosser

Charles Queade

William Rae

John Rankine

William Redfern

David Reid

Thomas Reid

Thomas Ring

Daniel Ritchie

George Roberts

J.J.W. Roberts

John Robertson

Thomas Robertson

John Rodmell

William Rogers

Archibald Ross

David Ross

Samuel Ross

George Rowe

Thomas Christie Roylance

George Shaw Rutherford

James Rutherford

Henry Ryan

William Mackenzie Saunders

Arthur Savage

James Scott

Thomas Seaton

John Thomas Sharpe

Andrew Sinclair

Samuel Sinclair

James Skeoch

John Sloan

Andrew Smith

Andrew Smith R.N.

Charles Smith

James Smith

John Smith

Thomas Somerville

Oliver Sproule

John Stephenson

Robert Stephenson

Joseph Steret

Alexander Stewart

John Grant Stewart

William Stewart

Peter Suther

James Syme

John Syme

Robert Tainsh

John Tarn

Alexander Taylor

David Thomas

John Thompson

David Thomson

George Thomson

James Thompson

Thomas Thomson

Charles Throsby

Philip Toms

William Henry Trotman

Samuel Turner

John Tweedale

Caryer Vickery

Elphinstone Walker

Hugh Walker

William Waters

Alexander Watson

David Watson

William Conborough Watt

George Hume Weatherhead

Major West

William West

John White

John Whitmarsh

George Williams

John Griffith Williams

Stephen Williamson

Andrew Douglas Wilson

James Wilson

John Wilson (c)

Thomas Braidwood Wilson

George Bouchier Worgan

Robert Wylie

David Wyse


1] Report from the Select Committee on Transportation, 1837


Information about Convict Ship Surgeons on this web site is adapted from:

The Convict Ships by Charles Bateson
Royal Navy Lists available at Google Books Advanced Search
Surgeons at Sea (Online)- National Archives UK
Royal Navy Medical Journals, 1817-1857 (Ancestry)
Australian Medical Pioneer Index
U.K. Medical Register 1865
New South Wales, Australia, Colonial Secretary's Papers 1788 - 1825
Colonial Secretary's Papers - Ancestry
Newspapers available at Trove
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers available via National Library Australia
Various diaries and journals

Site Search